By: 9 September 2015
Shortlist announced for Yorkshire Legal Awards

Shortlist announced for Yorkshire Legal Awards

The judges for the Yorkshire Legal Awards reveal who will be in the running at this year’s awards ceremony

The shortlist for the 2015 Yorkshire Legal Awards has been announced.

This year’s judges met last month in Leeds to discuss the entries and have come up with a shortlist of 48 law firms, barristers’ chambers and individuals. The winners will once again be presented at New Dock Hall in Leeds, on 22 October, where the county’s leading solicitors and barristers will gather to celebrate the legal sector’s achievements. Steph McGovern, the television presenter, will once again host the ceremony.

The awards were judged by a prestigious group of lawyers and academics from Yorkshire. Marilyn Stowe (Stowe Family Law) chaired the judging panel together with Judge Geoffrey Kamil; Alistair MacDonald QC (New Park Court Chambers); Peter Wright (President of the Yorkshire Union of Law Societies); David Wright (winner of the Yorkshire Lawyer of the Year Award 2014); Jill Dickinson (Senior Lecturer at the Department of Law at Sheffield Hallam University); Jasmine Cawkwell (Chair of the Leeds Junior Lawyer Division); Colin Gilbert (President of the Leeds Law Society); and Rachel Baldwin (President of the Sheffield Law Society).

Jeremy Shulman and Peter McCormick OBE will once again select a winner for the Presidents’ Award for 2015.

Launched in 2000 by Barker Brooks Communications to recognise the outstanding talent across the region, the event is a key date in the legal calendar. The glamorous black tie affair offers professionals the chance to come together for a memorable evening of celebration and always sells out – so early booking is recommended. As well as honouring excellence in the Yorkshire legal profession, the awards will again raise money for Yorkshire Cancer Research.

To find out more, please visit For any ticket or event enquiries, please call Paul Bunce on (01423) 851 150 or email him on



Law Firm (1-10 Partners) Award

A&N Care Solicitors

Hudgell Solicitors

Tapestry Compliance


Law Firm (11-30 Partners) Award


Ramsdens Solicitors



Law Firm (31+ Partners) Award

DLA Piper

Irwin Mitchell

Squire Patton Boggs


 Residential Property Award

Banner Jones Solicitors

Chadwick Lawrence

Ramsdens Solicitors


Commercial Property Award

Addleshaw Goddard

Irwin Mtchell



Dispute Resolution Award

Chadwick Lawrence

Irwin Mitchell

Walker Morris


Rising Star Award

Andrew McAulay, Clarion Solicitors

Ann-Marie Casey, LCF Law

David Cowgill, Irwin Mitchell

Mark Wilkinson, Shulmans



Private Client Award

Bond Dickinson

Irwin Mitchell

Ramsdens Solicitors


Niche Law Award

Kempner & Partners

Tapestry Compliance

Unity Law


Corporate and Commercial Award

DLA Piper


Squire Patton Boggs


Enterprise Award

Simon B. Halliwell, Construction Law Expert Limited

Kher Solicitors

Simpson Millar


Employment Law Award

Chadwick Lawrence


Hethertons Solicitors


In-House Lawyer Award

Callcredit Information Group



 Family Law Award

A&N Care Solicitors

Henry Hyams

Thornton Jones Family Law


Chambers of the Year Award

St Philips Leeds

Parklane Plowden Chambers

Kings Chambers


Trainee Solicitor Award

Gemma O’Boyle, DLA Piper

Kaira Clarehugh, The Needle Partnership

Natalie Coates, Switalskis Solicitors


Managing Partner of the Year

Alison Barnes, Barnes Family Law

Neil Hudgell, Hudgell Solicitors

Simon Stell, LCF Law


Yorkshire Lawyer of the Year –

to be announced on the night


Presidents’ Award –

to be announced on the night




Headline sponsor

[/double_paragraph] [double_paragraph]


Charity partner

[/double_paragraph] [/row]


SearchFlow_Logo_strapline copy  Zenith_logo Yorkshire-Life-logo   Yorkshire_bank_logo    Willis_logo Title_solve_logo STL_logo Stewarts_law_logo St_Phillips_Barristers_logo PSG_logo Porsche_logo Parklane_Plowden_logo Douglas_Scott_logo             DLA_logo BPP_Law_school_logo All_day_PA_legal_logo  Squire_Patton_Boggs_logo